You are here

Orchestral & Symphonic Works [O2p]

Kritik des Herzens (The Heart’s Critique) (2003)
for orchestra and tenor

German Lieder for tenor and piano or chamber orchestra, poems by Wilhelm Busch (with English singing translation)
1111 1000 1perc tenor str
10 min

Six orchestral Lieder in the tradition of Gustav Mahler and Richard Strauss; settings of poems by the great German satirist and cartoonist Wilhelm Busch (1832-1908). Lyrical vignettes and ironic musings on life, love, loss, resignation and reconciliation. Optional English singing translations by Edith & Michael Kimbell. Version also available for tenor and piano.

    1) Es sitzt ein Vogel auf dem Leim
    2) Seid mir nur nicht gar so traurig
    3) Es flog einmal ein muntres Fliegel
    4) Ferne Berge seh’ ich glühen
    5) Sie war ein Blümlein hübsch und fein
    6) O du, die mir die Liebste war

See and hear the excerpts

Reviews & Testimonials

    “... a contemporary composer, not totally averse to tonality, who knows how to make skillful use of recent innovations. He has a real affinity for Wilhelm Busch’s humor and the lyrical sections are also spot-on.”
    -- Gerhard Seitz, former concertmaster, Bavarian Radio Symphony

Download the orchestral score (pdf)

Download the piano score (pdf)

If you would like a bound score please send us an email with a request.